Course Description

ISTQB Advanced Test Analyst

The ISTQB Advanced Test Analyst course builds the knowledge gained in the ISTQB Foundation certificate to an advanced level, for test analysts.

Obtaining the ISTQB Foundation Certificate is a prerequisite for delegates attending this course. In addition, it is recommended that delegates have a minimum of 3 years of testing experience before attempting this qualification. The Advanced Test Analyst Certificate is one of the three advanced testing certificates, the others are Advanced Test Manager and Advanced Technical Test Analyst. Candidates may find the BCS Intermediate Certificate a useful bridge between Foundation and Advanced, although it is not mandatory. The Advanced Test Analyst course is intended for testing practitioners who are, or intend to become test analysts.

The Advanced Test Analyst course is run over 5 days with a 3 hour examination on the final day.

Our trainers are experienced testing practitioners with many years of software testing experience to relate to candidates in order to enhance the learning process. This tutor led course is carried out at locations UK wide. Courses can be arranged at your offices for group bookings of 4 or more delegates. Contact us for full details or a quote.

The course is priced at £1200 per delegate excluding VAT. This price includes the examination fee, all course materials, lunch and refreshments.

Select the location of your choice, then click a date to book a place:

Course Design
The Advanced Test Analyst course is presented in twelve modules:

Module 1: Testing Processes

  • The Fundamental Test Process
  • Test Planning, Monitoring, and Control
  • Test Analysis
  • Test Design
  • Test Implementation
  • Test Execution
  • Evaluating Exit Criteria and Reporting
  • Test Closure Activities

Module 2: Test Management Responsibilities of the Test Analyst

  • Test Progress Monitoring and Control
  • Distributed, Outsourced and Insourced Testing
  • The Test Analyst’s Tasks in Risk-Based Testing

Module 3: Introduction to Test Design Techniques

  • Designing Tests & Test Cases
  • Test Modelling Techniques
  • Covering Test Models

Module 4: Fundamental Test Design Techniques

  • Partition testing
  • Boundary testing
  • Domain testing

Module 5: Combinational Test Design Techniques

  • Decision Tables
  • Cause-Effect Graphing
  • Classification Tree Method
  • Combinatorial (Arithmetic) Testing Techniques

Module 6: Other Test Design Techniques

  • State Transition Testing
  • Use Case Testing
  • User Story Testing
  • Combining Test Techniques

Module 7: Experience-Based Test Techniques

  • Error Guessing
  • Checklist-Based Testing
  • Exploratory Testing
  • “Defect-Based” Testing
  • Anomaly Taxonomies (or “Defect Taxonomies”)
  • Applying the Best Technique

Module 8: Testing Quality (“Non-Functional”) Characteristics

  • Functional Quality Testing (including Accuracy, Suitability, Interoperability, and Compliance with standards and regulations)
  • Usability and Accessibility Testing (including Understandability, Learnability, Operability, Attractiveness, and Compliance with standards and regulations)

Module 9: Reviews

  • Introductory Review of Formal Review Processes
  • Using Checklists in Reviews

Module 10: Incident and Defect Management

  • Phase Containment of Defects
  • Incident Report Fields
  • Incident (& Defect) Classification
  • Root Cause Analysis

Module 11: Test Tools and Automation

  • Test Tools and Automation
  • Automated Test Execution
  • Keyword-Driven Scripting
  • Why Test Automation Often Fails (and how Test Analysts can contribute to preventing failure).